Skip to content

The Farmer

July 10, 2010

I’ve always joked that I am going to marry a rancher.  Our reception will be in a barn (I actually think a barn reception would be the bomb).

In actualluality I have resisted the agriculture lifestyle.  My parents are both ag people- but my older brother is a ER doctor, my second brother is a lieutenant in the army, and my little brother will be a conservation officer or something of the likes (he loves all things green-in fact we have a prairie in our back yard because prairies supply us with more oxygen per acre than trees).

I ,however, went to school in the city.  I wanted the glamour of city life.  I dated boys who grew up in suburbs and searcher for their identity.  I looked up at sky scrapers and thought-wow-is this the life for me.

If I haven’t told you about my job- lets just say I work outside in the summer sun with corn plants.  I come home to my family’s hobby farm (we don’t turn a profit).  Guess what- this feels right.  I’ve been fighting this for so long.  I’ve been fighting that I belong in a rural area.  I wanted the glam of city life but it’s time to just face that I am one hell of a country girl!

SO let me tell you about the current farm boy in my life.  He is actually two years younger than me- we work together- he owns a truck-wears cowboy boots and a cowboy hat- is studying soil science- talks about his sweet corn- and is adorable.

Yes ladies and gentleman I’m looking for my cowboy – or farmer

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 7:59 pm

    I think a barn reception would be really cool too!

Leave a Reply

